Goodbye Lou Reed

20131029-163148.jpg

No lie, I’ve been listening to Lou Reed’s Transformer for the last week while painting and it was in my CD player when I found out that he had died over the weekend. Lou Reed was one of my favorite artists since my record store years. I’ve had many great memories over the years, like seeing him at the Matisse show at the MOMA in the 90’s, seeing “Songs for Drella” at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, and seeing him onstage with David Bowie performing “White Light, White Heat”.

20131029-163716.jpg

I added this photo of myself wearing my Lou Reed t-shirt to Julia Kay’s Portrait Party a couple of years ago and have had several portraits done with Lou’s image looking up at me.

I loved his voice. I loved the way he was such a presence in New York City. I wish I could have seen him sing one last time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, iPad Art, Music, photography

Leave a Reply

