Retro Destination: The Starlux Hotel in Wildwood

20130710-185407.jpg

Last summer we stayed at the beautiful Starlux Hotel in the heart of Wildwood, New Jersey. I had wanted to stay at the Starlux ever since our first trip to the shore town many years ago.

The Starlux is one of the most unique hotels in Wildwood. The rooms are decorated in a retro style with kitschy touches like lava lamps. You can see the Wildwood sign (my favorite landmark) from the pool and you are walking distance from the boardwalk.

20130710-190056.jpg
The Glass enclosed lobby

20130710-190124.jpg
The stylized neon sign

20130710-190208.jpg
The design in the pool reminds me of olives in a martini glass

20130710-190246.jpg
The inside of the glass enclosed lobby

20130710-190333.jpg
I love the Doo Wop architecture!

20130710-190543.jpg
The view of the Wildwood sign from the parking lot

All of these photos were taken with my iPhone using the Hipstamatic app. I want to do a series of Inkpad iPad drawings of this hotel and some of the other landmarks around Wildwood. This town is so full of wonderful Doo Wop architecture and history and each time I visit I discover more fun and unique places!

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Hipstamatic, iPhone Art, photography

2 responses to “Retro Destination: The Starlux Hotel in Wildwood

  1. OMG, this is my favorite place! My husband and I stay here a lot, often in January (we love off season, going bowling, dining out, hitting the jacuzzi while catching snowflakes with our tongues!)

    They also have bikes you can use, free of charge. I love Wildwood and all the doo wop architecture aka mid-century architecture. It’s like being in another world. (Or on the Jetsons!)

    • Rita Flores

      Yes, I especially love Wildwood at night when all the neon hotel signs are lit. It feels like we stepped back in time to the 1950’s!

Leave a Reply

