Retro Beach Beauties at Dr. Sketchy’s Asbury Park

Dr. Sketchy's Asbury Park

Tooncamera and Halftone apps on iPhone

I went to a super fun Dr. Sketchy’s in Asbury Park, New Jersey. There were three wonderful models dressed in retro bathing suits and taking pinup style poses. This was my first time drawing with the Asbury Park branch, even though I have been following their various activities on Facebook for a couple months. Asbury Park is one of the closer “shore points” but still sort of a long ride for me. They allowed photography at this session so i tried to draw and take iphone photos at the same time. I will be posting some of the drawings soon.

I was pleasantly surprised by how artsy and fun Asbury Park is. The session was held on “First Saturday” when galleries and stores stay open later. There were lots of neat antique shops and clothing stores, and I hope to go there one more time before the summer is over. I will also be posting some of the pictures I took around the beach and boardwalk which had some great street art amongst the old buildings. The town is definitely full of character and reminds me of all my favorite college towns I’ve visited over the years.

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Dr. Sketchy, Drawing, iPhone Art, photography

One response to “Retro Beach Beauties at Dr. Sketchy’s Asbury Park

  1. Pingback: Retro Destination: Asbury Park | Through the Lava Lamp

Leave a Reply

