Things I Love Thursday: Shonen Knife and Maxwell’s

Over the weekend I was fortunate to see Shonen Knife at Maxwell’s in Hoboken, New Jersey. They are one of my favorite groups but this was the first time that I saw them in concert. I can hardly believe that they have been around for 30 years (!!!)

Shonen Knife just released their new album PopTune and they played several songs from it which sounded fantastic. They also played Rock and Roll High School from their Ramones Tribute album Osaka Ramones. Their show was incredibly high energy and fun.

20120726-191752.jpg

20120726-191807.jpg

20120726-191816.jpg

Maxwell’s is one of my favorite places to see a show because the room is so small. I was able to get really close to the stage and was able to get a lot of iPhone photos. I had a flood of memories of some of the shows that I had seen there, including Los Straitjackets, the Fleshtones, and Robyn Hitchcock. Back in the 90’s when Hoboken had a flourishing art scene I had exhibited my paintings in the restaurant area. I’ve heard that it has one of the best jukeboxes around, even though I didn’t get to check it out on this visit.

A special thanks to Tracey and Bill for making the night even more fun and memorable!

2 Comments

Filed under Art, iPhone Art, Music, photography

2 responses to “Things I Love Thursday: Shonen Knife and Maxwell’s

  1. LOVE these photos and love what you did with the comic book app. That was a super fun night, so glad we did it!

    • Rita Flores

      Thanks! I’ll print some out and give them to you next time I see you. I’m still working on doing more comic book versions of the pictures.

      I just found their blog that has photos and blog posts from each member-it’s really neat to see their point of view: http://www.shonenknife.net/blog/archives/category/from-naoko

      It looks like they visited Jersey Gardens and NYC the day after the Maxwell’s show.

Leave a Reply

