Let’s Percolate! Having Some Fun With The Percolator App

Still life

The Percolator app has been around for quite a while but I finally decided to try it out this weekend. I’ve seen many iPhone photos using it but I wasn’t sure if it was something that would fit in with what I was doing. The app turns your photo into a series of circles and can make your photo look pretty abstract, or sort of like a mosaic. I was surprised to find that it has a lot of different filters, not just the circles or discs. I really like the Overprint filter used on extra fine because it reminds me of an impressionistic painting. I experimented with using Percolator on a Hipstamatic photo and a Tooncamera photo of the same still life from my studio. The app also has different tones and textures so I think you can get a really varied range of effects.

This is the Original Hipstamatic photo used on the picture above. The top photo is processed using the Overprint filter

This is another version of the still life using the color gels filter

This was taken using the Tooncamera app

This Is the Tooncamera photo processed with Overprint and then imported into ArtRage

I really think I am just scratching the surface of what I can do with the Percolator app. I am thinking of doing a series of painted still life’s based on life and these photos.

3 Comments

Filed under Art, Hipstamatic, iPad Art, iPhone Art, photography

3 responses to “Let’s Percolate! Having Some Fun With The Percolator App

  1. I do like overprint too, the first pic you posted is really cool. But often I end up using Rings.
    I wrote something about it too if you have time to check 🙂 http://davidroccato.com/tag/percolator/

  2. Rita Flores

    Thanks! I really liked your blog, especially your App recipe book post. I added you as a contact on Flickr too.

Leave a Reply

