Portrait of Shirley: Inkpad on iPad

Shirley

I created this portrait of Shirley McClaine as a demo for the IPad event at the Apple Store last week. I used a lot of pattern in this one because I wanted to demonstrate masking and using different collage elements that I keep in my photo albums. I like to scan in different textures to use on my pictures and I also use some of my Hipstamatic photos. I created a black and white drawing first to show how I add color and use the masks. I usually don’t work this way because I draw the colors in right from the beginning, almost in the same way I paint. I love the immediacy of Inkpad and the way you can make quick changes. The “undo” button is one thing you don’t have luxury of using in real paintings, and I have to say that I have become very spoiled by it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Collage, Drawing, iPad Art, Painting, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

