Things I Love Thursday: Inkpad Vector Drawing App for IPad

Edie Sedgewick

iPad painting of Edie Sedgewick using Inkpad and ArtRage on iPad

One of my favorite apps right now is Inkpad, a vector based drawing app for the iPad. This app was developed by Steve Sprang who also gave us the amazing Brushes app. I am not familiar at all with vector drawing programs so I am learning as I go along. I found some great tutorials on the Digital Drawer blog, especially this one on creating a neon effect.

I’ve been doing a lot of drawings of retro “bombshells” or iconic movie stars from the 50’s and 60’s because they seem to lend themselves to the more graphic style of Inkpad. I’ve also been experimenting with combining the Inkpad drawing with other apps such as ArtRage and PicGrunger to give more texture to the drawings and give them more of a collage feeling. Which version do you like best?

20110825-120445.jpg

Inkpad alone

20110825-120507.jpg

Inkpad and PicGrunger

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Collage, Drawing, iPad Art

4 responses to “Things I Love Thursday: Inkpad Vector Drawing App for IPad

  1. Pingback: Drawing love | Allcoasthost

  2. My Heart Art by Geri

    Great work – is Inkpad hard to learn? I don’t have much vector experience

    • Rita Flores

      Thanks! I had no vector experience at all when I got the app so I had to start from scratch. I’ve been using it for over a year now and I am still learning new things -but it is definitely a fun app to draw with. I have looked online for tutorials and also just learn from my mistakes.

      • My Heart Art by Geri

        Thanks for the quick response – love your work! I’ll have to give it a go!

Leave a Reply

