Los Straitjackets At The Turning Point

Los Straitjackets

Last night we had an amazing time seeing the band Los Straitjackets at the Turning Point in Piermont, New York. We arrived early and were able to sit literally inches from the band. I really liked the Turning Point because it is a very intimate venue and it has tables so you don’t have to stand for a couple hours.

In case you are not familiar with the band, Los Straitjackets play instrumental surf music and wear Mexican wrestling masks. We saw them a couple of years ago at Maxwell’s in Hoboken. Last night they did some new songs called “Space Mosquito”, “Bobsledding” and “The Brooklyn Slide”.
I brought along a sketchpad for the first time seeing a band and it was a different experience trying to draw moving musicians in a dimly lit room (and add in two beers). I will post the drawings tomorrow if my scanner cooperates. I took some Hipstmatic photos on random of the show and I want to use some of them to do some Inkpad drawings.

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Hipstamatic, iPhone Art, photography

4 responses to “Los Straitjackets At The Turning Point

  1. I am so sad that I couldn’t go last night! I love them! The pics are absolutely amazing.

  2. Rita Flores

    Thanks so much Tracey! Hopefully we can catch them next time they come around.

  3. These are great. I really like the sketches! I think you captured the coolness that is Eddie Angel!

Leave a Reply

