Brushes Vs. ArtRage

m. lewandowski, originally uploaded by Ritaflo.

Toonpaint and Brushes on iPad

Every once in a while I will notice in my stats page that people have searched “Brushes Vs. ArtRage.”. If you are an artist who has just gotten an iPad (either version) I would suggest you get both. And while your at it, I would get Sketchbook Pro too. Even though they are all painting/drawing apps, each one does something a little different that you won’t have an overlap of apps. I find that Brushes is the easiest and most intuitive to use, but each artist gets comfortable with different apps through practice and finds their own favorite. Sketchbook Pro has a wide variety of brushes and textures that are unique to that app. ArtRage mimics the look of different art supplies’ such as oil paint and pencils. I often like to do app mashes, where I will combine various app to get a totally unique artwork. I use ArtRage a lot to create textures, such as the canvas or watercolor texture.

m. lewandowski for JKPP

Brushes and ArtRage on iPad

So if you have the means, try to experiment with as many apps as you can until you find the one that you are most comfortable with. Or you can challenge yourself, like I did, with a vector based app like Inkpad, and venture out of you comfort zone.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, iPad Art, Painting

2 responses to “Brushes Vs. ArtRage

  1. Marianne

    I have been trying to decide which one to get, or at least start with. Thanks for writing the comments. I have found them very helpful

Leave a Reply

