Things I Love Thursday: Wanda Jackson-Queen of Rockabilly

Wanda Jackson-Queen of Rockabilly

Last week I was driving and an amazing song was playing on a local college radio station. The song was “Shaking All Over” by Wanda Jackson and it sounded incredible through my car speakers. I haven’t had that experience in a while where you hear a new song and automatically want to run out and get it. I had been hearing the name Wanda Jackson around the news because she was recently on Conan but didn’t really know who she was. I found her new album “The Party Ain’t Over” on iTunes and looked her up on Wikipedia. She is considered the Queen of Rockabilly and has had a long career recording not only Rockabilly songs but country and gospel also. Her new album was produced by Jack White and she is touring right now to support it.

I’ve just started teaching myself how to use InkPad on my iPad, which is a vector based drawing app. I made my first attempts at Inkpad by doing some portraits of Wanda Jackson. I did a google image search and found a lot of great photos from her albums. I will probably be doing some more Inkpad pictures of Wanda Jackson because I realized that she has beautiful green eyes and since I worked from black and white photos I made them black.

This was my very first attempt at Inkpad:

Wanda

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, iPad Art, Music

Leave a Reply

