Irishishka – ArtRage and Brushes on iPad

Irishishka For JKPP, originally uploaded by Ritaflo.

This is a portrait of the artist Irishishka when she was a young girl that I created for Julia Kay’s Portrait Party on Flickr. I started the portrait in ArtRage and next imported it into Brushes to add the collage elements. The roses are Hipstamatic photos which I’ve made semi-transparent. I also used a textured surface behind her head to give the picture a more aged, worn look. I really like using ArtRage and Brushes together because they each have unique functions and gives it a more unique look.

6 Comments

Filed under Art, Collage, iPad Art, photography

6 responses to “Irishishka – ArtRage and Brushes on iPad

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Irishishka – ArtRage and Brushes on iPad | Through the Lava Lamp -- Topsy.com

  2. Thank you for pointing me toward ArtRage! I love it! I just started drawing on my new ipad, and am in love with it!!! My pics are at http://kristinbell.org if you’d like to see. I love your art work by the way! So great! 🙂 🙂 And thanks for sharing your expertise and art with the world! 🙂

  3. Rita Flores

    Thanks so much! I really like your drawings, especially the birds in the trees! You might want to try out Sketchbook Mobile for iPad too. Oprah magazine has a free version in the app store you can try out. Thanks again for stopping by!

  4. Shelley

    Hi there Rita
    I found your site as I was looking for info about Brushes vs ArtRage vs Sketchbook pro. I love your work – beautiful drawings and atmospheric treatments. Can I ask a question? In the photo above and also the one of Jeremy – do you do the whole drawing straight onto the ipad using the different tools & brushes, or do you upload an initial offline sketch and work on building that up and adding depth, tone & background? I’ve never used one of these apps before and although I’m technically a pretty proficient amateur drawer – I’m just not sure where to start! Any advice gratefully received…

  5. Rita Flores

    Thanks! I often import images into one of the apps and use the layers function. You can import a drawing into say sketchbook pro using the layers function and work right on top of that or create a new layer (or several layers) and then delete the initial drawing underneath. It’s harder to explain than it is to do, but I will try in the next couple of days to do a tutorial showing how to use the layers, so check back soon!

  6. Rita Flores

    This is a link to an earlier blog post showing the different elements I’ve used for making a digital collage using Brushes: http://wp.me/pDfUE-hb it’s not the same as the paintings, but it gives you a bit of an idea of the process.

Leave a Reply

