Dr. Sketchy, Andy Warhol and Work of Art at the Brooklyn Museum

Brooklyn Museum, originally uploaded by Ritaflo.

Hipstamatic iphoneography.

Last weekend I attended a special Dr. Sketchy’s Tribute to Andy Warhol at the Brooklyn Museum.

I took part in the Creative Art Making program held in the sun drenched Rubin Glass Pavillion. The models, Dame Cuchifrita and Delysia La Chatte, channelled Andy Warhol’s Superstars. The models posed separately on two stages and the artists sat around the stages, creating a theater in the round atmosphere. It was perhaps one of the most visually striking atmospheres I have drawn in. Molly Crabapple drew at an easel and demonstrated some of her techniques during the breaks. They played some of my favorite music, including David Bowie, Bob Dylan and the Velvet Underground.

After the drawing session I took a quick look at the Andy Warhol Exhibit. The exhibit focused on his later work. One of the highlights for me was the Last Supper painting which I’ve only seen in print. There was also a wall of Interview magazine covers which brought back memories of college and cutting out the pictures to decorate our dorm room.

I exited the exhibit into the obligatory gift shop. From the gift shop I could hear what sounded like a huge crowd of people. As I walked out I saw that the crowd was there for the Work of Art exhibit for the winner Abdi Farah. As I scanned the crowd I noticed several of the cast members/Artists in attendance. I took a quick walk around the crowd and then headed toward the elevator. I took the elevator down to the first floor with one of the artists from the show, and wanted to ask him what he thought of the whole experience, but chickened out.

Upon leaving the museum I reflected on the irony of the various events going on at the same time, Andy and the whole 15 minutes of fame during this digital age. What would he have thought of Work of Art and their process for picking a winner?

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Drawing, photography

Leave a Reply

