Pee-wee Herman At Sturgis (I’m a loner Dottie…a rebel)

A painting created on my iPad using Brushes.

I created this iPad painting using one of Pee-Wee Herman’s pictures from his Facebook Fan page.  Pee-Wee was part of the Sturgis Motorcycle Ralley and was slated to participate in various charity events and host what was billed as the world’s largest “Tequila dance” to the tune of the 1958 instrumental by the Champs.   I posted this image on my Flickr page and sent it to Pee-wee Herman via twitter, who in turn posted it on his FB Fanpage.  It got like a Gazillion hits (exageration) thanks to all of his FB fans (and thank you Pee-Wee).

I had started to follow Pee-Wee Herman on Twitter and visited his new website.   I was thinking about how the Pee-Wee’s Playhouse show had influenced my artwork early on because of the bright colors, the retro/kitchy decorations, and the artwork of Gary Panter.  I realized that the outside of the Playhouse had two lava lamps as columns and wondered if that was one of the reasons I had started to like lava lamps in the first place.  How many images stay with us through out our lives without us really being cognizant of where they first came from?  What types of non-art images left a lasting impression on you and still influence your art?

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, iPad Art, Painting, photography

Leave a Reply

