Dr. Sketchy’s Art Monkeys Ball

At the Art Monkeys Ball, originally uploaded by Ritaflo.

An iPhone photo taken of me at the Dr. Sketchy Art Monkeys Ball in Brooklyn, New York.   I was wearing a vintage Betsey Johnson floor length dress.  Behind me you can see a cage in which artists took turns being models.

Dr. Sketchy’s Art Monkey Ball will be an event I will long remember.  I’ve just recently started going to the Dr. Sketchy sessions in New York. This was their largest and most elaborate event and for me took figure drawing to a new level. In addition to Amber Ray on the main stage there were models and burlesque performers stationed at various parts of the room so that wherever you sat you had a great model to draw. One of my favorite models was the aerialist who was performing/posing almost right above me.  Photos from the event are featured in Time Out New York.  New York Press described it as a “living tableaus formed in every direction; models draped effortlessly across vintage furniture, statuesque cigarette girls dispensed art supplies and an aerialist slowly shifted from pose to pose in a high-hanging trapeze while mustachioed gentlemen and corseted ladies captured her movements on paper”.

I’ve just started scanning the drawings in and digitally altering them on my iPad to create collages that invoke the era the models were trying to represent:

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Collage, Drawing, iPad Art, iPhone Art, Painting, photography

Leave a Reply

