Week 46: Time travel

Week 46: Time travel, originally uploaded by Ritaflo.

This is a mashup of a photo taken with the Hipstamatic Photo app and painted with Brushes.  I created it for the group “iPhone/iTouch painting a week on an assigned subject”   The subject this week was “Time Travel”.  I couldn’t really come up with a literal picture of “time travel” such as a time machine.  This is a little more abstract.  Its about looking at objects around the house and remembering the time when they were new, where you were at that time of your life.  This little “head vase” brought back memories of my mom.  I used to collect head vases and salt & pepper shakers.  Back in the days before Ebay my mom would go to flea markets and antique shows throughout the year to find the special items that I collected and give them to me for my birthday or Christmas.  As I’ve been taking pictures of the objects they’ve brought back long lost memories of a time in my life that seems a million miles/years away.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, iPhone Art, photography

2 responses to “Week 46: Time travel

  1. I like this a lot. There is something nostalgic about it, but also present day creepy, too. And those fingers!

    • ritaflores

      Thanks! I really like the way the Hipstamatic app kind of flattens out the image – the nick knacks take on a totally different life.

Leave a Reply

