My Little Town

Ghost figures of past, present, future haunting the heart…

“Another Sunny Day”, Belle & Sebastian

IMG_0384

The Dogwood Tree, iPhone Art using Brushes

I live in the same town where I grew up.  Our house is on the other side of town from the house I grew up in which has given me a different perspective on the town.  My son just started going to the same elementary school I went to.  As I stepped into the playground it brought up memories that I hadn’t thought of in years.  The lines on the asphalt, the sounds of the children, that smell of fall in the air – it was a very “Proustian” experience.

Recently I’ve been working on an ongoing project of creating “portraits” of my town.  I’ve been trying to look at all the places that have become so familiar and seeing them in a new, magical way.  How did I see the town differently as a child? Some places are gone forever, while others have been constants in our lives: the town hall, the Swim Club, and the tree lined streets.

IMG_0398

The Town Hall, iPhone Art using Brushes

IMG_0492

4th of July, iPhone Art using Brushes


IMG_0461

Playground, iPhone Art using Brushes


IMG_0550

Red Horse on Playground, iPhone Art using Brushes


IMG_0312

A Walk Down the Street, iPhone Art using Brushes

2 Comments

Filed under Art, iPhone Art, Landscapes

2 responses to “My Little Town

  1. I love these. They have that “old timey” postcard feel, but of course they are nothing at all like those.

    That you live in the same town you grew up in comes through in these images. That makes them personal. And yet they are universal. Growing up in a suburban town, my family had a dogwood I loved so much. Seeing yours image of the dogwood sent me back to teenagerhood, late spring, the smell of grass I had just mowed, the sound of sprinklers.

    The personal and the universal: that’s a difficult thing to do and you pull it off beautifully.

    • ritaflores

      Thanks! I purposely did not give the location of the town so that the viewers could look at them without any preconceived notions of the place.

Leave a Reply

