Inspiration for iPhone Art

A couple of months ago I started to create artwork using iPhone apps.  It started out as playing around with some of the sillier photo apps (such as putting people’s faces on animals).  Next I started experimenting with apps such as Photogene, 101 Photo Effects, Art Camera, Gesture, Paintbook and Brushes. Brushes took the artwork to the next level and I wanted to try to make iPhone art that was more like my own artwork.

Back in the 90’s I was creating a series of mixed media drawings based on images of women in interiors with kitchy items such as lava lamps.

DSCI0275

As I started working with the various painting and sketching “apps”  I wondered how I could create digital collages that were reminiscent of these earlier drawings.  I revisited (or recycled) the images and used Brushes, Photogene and Layers to create the collages but got  a very different effect:

IMG_0744

iPhone Art using Brushes and Layers

IMG_0631

iPhone Art using Brushes, Photogene, Layers and Textdraw

IMG_0592

iPhone Art using Photogene, Layers and Textdraw

Its been very exciting to work with the various iPhone apps since it is such a new medium and new apps are coming out every week.  The advantages are that you can work very quickly and you never have to run out to the art supply store if you run out of a certain color.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Collage, Drawing, iPhone Art, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Inspiration for iPhone Art

  1. This is a cool blog. I particularly like your lava lamp paintings!

Leave a Reply

